Instruments

The most important material needed for orchestra is a properly sized and well maintained instrument. Below is a list of places students can both purchase and rent instruments:

Sources for rental instruments and/or musical supplies (these are just a few)

Store Phone Website
Allegro Music (407) 830-5856 www.allegromusiccentre.com
Atlantic Strings, Inc. (407) 898-2698 www.atlanticstrings.com
Avalon Music Center (407) 447-7272 www.avalonmusiccenter.com
The Band Room (407) 897-7080 www.bandroomorlando.com
Florida Musical Instruments (561) 296-7831 www.nikolaitambovsky.com
Gainesville Violins (352) 372-8264 www.gviolins.cc
Jerry Weiss (407) 896-8001
Johnson String Instruments www.johnsonstring.com
USA Violins www.USAviolins.com
Muni Strings (407)951-6256 www.munistrings.com
Music and Arts (407)332-1477 www.musicarts.com
Music Shack (407) 678-1756 www.musicshack.biz
String Works www.stringworks.com
Shar Productions www.sharmusic.com
Southwest Strings www.southweststrings.com

Please do not purchase a bargain instrument. Sometimes well-meaning parents find violins at very low prices on the Internet, at a department store, or at a pawn shop. Beware, for the old saying “You get what you pay for” is especially true for string instruments. An inexpensive violin, while it may look shiny and pretty, is generally of inferior quality, breaks easily, does not stay in tune well (often causing enough frustration to cause the student to quit), and generally requires adjustments by a professional repair person to even make it playable (incurring additional costs anyway). We would be happy to answer any specific questions you may have in order to help you acquire a quality student instrument for your child.

OCPS policy: “Students are ultimately responsible for their personal property, not the class. Orange County Schools does not have insurance or any other plan that will cover damage, theft, or loss of privately owned instruments and equipment. If it is to be covered, it must be through a parents personal insurance, such as homeowners, etc.”

Skip to toolbar