ROMPIENDO BARRERAS.  Johanna Lopez, first OCPS Hispanic teacher of the year, inspires students with her speech. photo/Sofia McGrover

The Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica, commonly known as Spanish Honor Society, welcomed their newest members at their induction ceremony Friday, Feb. 17.  

Johanna Lopez, the OCPS 2017 Teacher of the Year, gave opening remarks regarding the chapter’s choice of the “Los Bravos” name and its significance to the members. 

“[Benefits I will take away from joining is] a  chance to learn more about Spanish culture and I get to spend more time with Dr. Cubero,” junior Victoria Petrucelly said. 

Lopez, who was the first hispanic teacher in OCPS to win this award, highlighted theacademic success of its members. She also acknowledged the difficulty and stress that an honor society brings and what an amazing opportunity they have. 

“[Spanish Honor Society] will give me experience that I will need to help me overcome obstacles that I will face in life,” senior Rafael Rodriguez Giusti said.

Commencing the ceremony, SHS officers distributed candles to the inductees symbolizing the inner light guiding the new members as well as a certificate marking their entrance.

To apply for SHS, students must be in Spanish 2 or higher, maintain a 3.5 GPA in the last three semesters of Spanish, and be an active member of the Spanish Club.

SHS participates in Green up Boone and Relay for Life.

2017 inductees include:

Teodora Anica

Hannah Bae

Claire Beemer

Zana Berisha

Grace Blastic

Anezi Bueno

Michael Collins

María Cortés

Lianne D’cruz

Britney Grille

Susana Morata

Abigail Jones

Cecelia Keglar

Cinthia López

Eliezer López

Kurly Luengas

Stephany Melhado

Kaitlin Michaels

Janet Nguyen

Génesis Ordoñez

Myara Pérez

Victoria Petrucelly

Niccia Provenzano

Rafael Rodríguez

Abigail Ruback

Emma Schrago

Lauren Shutts

Hajra Saeed

Raymond Tran

Azucena Vidales

Meggan Valles

By Sofia McGrover

I'm in newspaper and am on the swim team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *